1. CoronaVirus
  2. Travel and Living

Canada’s Updated Coronavirus Regulations For Domestic Travel Between Provinces

As Canada continues to try to limit the effects of the coronavirus pandemic, the government is also trying to encourage domestic travel rather than international trips for Canadians who choose to vacation. But travel across the country is not a straightforward affair. Atlantic Canada has even introduced a Travel Bubble for regional travelers. Here’s everything you need to know about the new updated rules for domestic travel between provinces in Canada.

Atlantic Canada

Thanks to a new “travel bubble” rule, residents from Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and P.E.I. can travel freely between the four maritime provinces without needing to self-isolate upon entry. However, each of the provinces has its own specific rules as to who is allowed to enter, forms that may need to be filled out and required ID. Detailed specific requirements for each of the four provinces can be found in this article or on each province’s website.

Aside from residents of Atlantic Canada, most Canadians are not presently allowed entry into Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick and P.E.I. unless they fall within specific exceptions that differ for each province. The one exception is Nova Scotia, which is allowing Canadian travelers entry with the requirement that they must self-isolate for 14 days upon entry to the province (read more about Nova Scotia’s rules on its website.)


Most travel restrictions have been lifted (though travel to the Cree Territory of James Bay and Nunavik is still limited) and there are no self-isolation requirements for Canadian residents. Read more here.


Ontario has no inter-provincial travel restrictions. General Covid-19 Ontario information is available on the website.


Manitoba is the only province outside of Atlantic Canada (and the Territories) with domestic coronavirus travel restrictions. Travel is permitted but anyone arriving in the province is required to self-isolate for 14-days. However, there are some specific exceptions for northwestern Ontario and British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut. Details can be found on this website.


Currently the province has no domestic travel restrictions. More information here.


Though non-essential travel is not advised, Alberta presently has no inter-provincial domestic travel restrictions. More info here.

British Columbia

The province has no domestic travel restrictions. More info can be found here.


Canadian travelers can enter the territory but must self-quarantine for 14 days in Whitehorse. However, essential workers and residents from the Yukon, British Columbia, Northwest Territories or Nunavut are exempt. For more information, visit the province’s website.

Northwest Territories

With few exceptions (read about exceptions here) only residents of NWT and Nunavut are allowed to enter the province but they still must self-isolate for 14 days (unless they are traveling directly from either territory due to the Common Travel area rule.

Furthermore, the government states that: “travellers arriving in the NWT must mandatorily self-isolate for 14 days in Yellowknife, Inuvik, Hay River or Fort Smith only. NWT residents cannot self-isolate in a small community or other regional centre other than the four listed communities if they have returned from outside the NWT. This is a measure to avoid overwhelming health centres in small remote communities and ensure those exposed to COVID-19 are close a well-equipped hospital care.”

More information about exceptions to the travel rules and other details are available on the website and here.


Most non-Nunavut residents are banned from entering the territory aside from a few exceptions. Recently, a Common Travel Area was established between Nunavut and the Northwest Territories so residents of those Territories can travel freely without quarantining if they have not been outside their respective territory for two weeks prior to entry. Before travelers from NWT can enter Nunavut, they must complete and sign the NU and NWT Traveller’s Declaration form.

Otherwise, NU residents entering from the rest of Canada are subject to a mandatory 14-day isolation period that will take place outside of the territory in either Ottawa, Winnipeg, Edmonton or Yellowknife.

More information is available on the website.

Comments to: Canada’s Updated Coronavirus Regulations For Domestic Travel Between Provinces

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *